Webinars

Advancing Awareness in LGBTQ Care, Part I: History of Specialized Treatment for LGBTQ+ Clients
Friday, June 18, 2021
Hits : 375

12:00–2:00pm EDT; 11:00–1:00pm CDT; 10:00am–12:00pm MDT; 9:00–11:00am PDT; 8:00–10:00am AKDT; 7:00–9:00am HAST

This webinar is hosted by National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors 

The need for specialized treatment for LGBTQ+ individuals was first addressed in 1979 at the Rutgers Summer School on Alcoholism, which led to the founding of NALGAP: The Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Addiction Professionals and Their Allies. The co-founders of NALGAP will discuss those origins along with landmarks that followed NALGAP’s establishment, including how SAMHSA eventually published A Provider's Guide for Working with LGBT Individuals and a curriculum for training all professionals on the specific issues of LGBT clients.

Register here: https://www.naadac.org/lgbtq-history-of-treatment-webinar